Feeling Critic: The Boy in the Striped Pajamas Book and Film Review

Standard

First things first: to be honest, I fell asleep halfway through the movie but t give justice to the film, it was not because of it but because I was too exhausted from the prelims we just had (and I’m still not feeling well). But because of the reaction my sister and my mom had after watching the film, I’ve concluded that it was a great film. I was not able to finish reading the book either because I think I accidentally deleted the e-book from my device and then I wen Ana-ing and eventually forgot about it. To make this post shorter, I’d like to say that the book and the film are equally good (but of course, I’ll remain on the side of books like I have always been).

Synopsis:

The Boy in the Striped Pajamas is a book/film about the friendship about a German boy named Bruno and a Jew kid named Schmuel set in the time of the Holocaust. Bruno is a son of a German soldier and upon the promotion of his dad, the family moved into a new place without knowing what job the father now has. Bruno have always dreamed of becoming an explorer and one day because of his boredom and against his mother’s rule not to go to the “farm”, he met Schmuel and this has started a stunning story of real love between friends.

And since I can’t go on with the synopsis because tears are already filling up my eyes, I’d end this post by sharing some quotes from it and the trailer. I highly recommend this film.

Quotes:

Bruno: I’m Bruno.
Shmuel: Shmuel.
Bruno: Sorry?
Shmuel: I’m Shmuel.
Bruno: That’s your name? I’ve never heard of anyone called that before.
Shmuel: I’ve never heard of anyone called Bruno.
Bruno: Shmuel? No one’s called Shmuel.

Bruno: Why do you wear pajamas all day?
Shmuel: The soldiers. They took all our clothes away.
Bruno: My dad’s a soldier, but not the sort that takes people’s clothes away.

[about Gretel’s reading from their tutor of popaganda about “the Jew”]
Bruno: I don’t understand. One man caused all this trouble?

Source: IMDb

Trailer:

http://http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CkzIC_bwxT8

Leave a Reply

